top of page

JAVANESE MUSICAL INSTRUMENT

Gamelan, The Javanese musical instrument

The Javanese Gamelan term refers to equipment or instruments and its a one unity which played together. Gamelan comes from the Javanese words, gamel means to hit/to play. This verb is added with suffix-an and changed into noun, gamelan. Gamelan mainly made from wood and Gangsa (a kind of metal mixed with copper or tin. A set of gamelan usually consist of Kendang, bonang, gender, gambang, suling, siter, clempung, slenthem,demung, saron, kenong, kethuk, japan, kempyang, kempul, peking and gong.

With our two buddies Diyah and wiworo, the members of the UKPD organization,  Anindyastuti Wardani, Kendhang mas Aziz, bonang Akhdan diiy and my co-sea teacher Carlo. 

The Uns UPKD organization gave it's time to teach us how to play the Gamelan Javanese musical instruments.  They introduced first their organization, members and the instrument they played. 

Saron is one of the traditional Javanese gamelan pentatonic instruments which is also called balungan. To ring or play a saron, it is needed to hit the instrument which is usually called percussion. This tool consists of the head and a tool holder that is used as a buffer when struck to the area. Saron has six or seven bronze keys placed on a wooden frame. Saron is one of the important component of the gamelan. 

Having some introduction first, familiarizing the basic pattern of saron. 

She is Anindyastuti Wardani, she teached me how saron is being played. 

I really don't have any experience in playing instrument. I just handle them and have a little strum because I don't know how to play it. But having this experience, letting myself engage into different kind of hobbies/passion or the likes makes me to try and discovered the talent that haven't seen. As our practice goes on my mentor said that I am a fast learner. Though it was just the basic but then I was able to played it in limited time. That was I realized that I have the talent to played music all you need to di is to have a practice.  

This is the building for the Faculty of Teacher Training and Education where the musical instruments were located. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page